Top Menu

Fee’s for the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Increase

The first of the year saw an increase in the application fees for Concealed Carriers in Utah.

According to the site, the finger print-based background check processing fee that the FBI charges has increased the overall cost of the CFP (Concealed Firearms Permit)  from its original cost of $46.00 for residents and $51.00 for non-residents.

The new fee’s being charged are $53.25 for residents, and $63.25 for non-residents.

While the application fee of $25, and the Utah Background Check of $15 has not changed, the FBI Background Check has increased by $7.25 for the resident.

Utah isn’t allowed to profit any money from the FBI fee, so the price increase is purely because of the extra fees from the FBI which is transferred to the CFP applicant.

If you would like to apply for your CFP, or are an instructor looking for the right form for your students, click here for the updated form which will be required when submitting.

Utah CCW renewal applications can be found here, and a replacement CCW form is found here. But be aware that you cannot file for a renewal CFP more then 90 days from when it is supposed to expire.

A warning from the state of Utah:

“Please use caution and do not renew your Utah CFP through any site other than the official Utah DPS site.  We have received notification that there are other websites that indicate that they can renew your Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP).  These are not connected in any way to the Utah renewal website.  Please be aware that the only website to renew your Utah CFP is:”

Hopefully this helps to clear up any questions you may have had about why it is more expensive to renew your permit this year compared to the last time you did. Click here for a free eBook on Concealed Carry Law, Permits and Community.

If it was helpful, leave us a comment below to let us know and check out our class schedule to find a firearm instructor near you.



, , , , , , ,

2 Responses to Fee’s for the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Increase

  1. shon August 19, 2019 at 9:41 pm #

    I’ve been trying to renew my permit for two weeks, would not let me do it . now my permit is expired ,what shall I do?

    • Misty October 15, 2019 at 9:19 am #

      You can renew up to one year after it expires. The late fee applies after a 30 day grace period.

      You should be able to renew after you watch a video on the website

      There was a problem with the online renewal site when using mobile devices. I believe that has been fixed now.

Leave a Reply