Top Menu

Utah State CCW Laws

Utah Gun Laws

  Open Carry: Legal if the handgun is deemed unloaded. Utah's definition of unloaded is that there be no round in the firing position and at least two mechanical movements to fire.
  Duty to Notify Law Enforcement: Only when asked by the officer
  State Parks: Concealed handgun carry by those with honored/recognized permits is allowed
  Restaurants Serving Alcohol: No specific restriction
  Firearms at Colleges: Concealed carry allowed by law
  Firearms at K-12 Schools: No restrictions for permittees
  Magazine Capacity Limitations: No restrictions
  Suppressor Ownership: Lawful
  Vehicle Possession by Non-Permitees: Handguns may be loaded and concealed anywhere in the vehicle.
  Firearm Law Uniformity: Preemption statute is in place. Firearm laws uniform throughout the state.
  Permit Training Requirements: Must take state regulated and prescribed class. Classroom only, appx 4 hours.
  Permit Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety.
  May/Shall Issue: Shall Issue
  State Website: Utah
  Length of Permit Validity: 5 years. Can renew online.
  Permit Application Process: Mail or apply in person to the State Department of Public Safety.
  Non-Resident Permits: Non-residents may apply. Fee is slightly higher.
  Places Off Limits: A person with a permit to carry a concealed firearm may not carry a concealed firearm in any secure area. A secure area may be established at an airport, higher education institution, or courthouse. A mental health facility or correctional facility may be designated by rule as an area in which no firearm or ammunition may be transported, sold, given, or possessed upon the facility. At least one notice shall be prominently displayed at each entrance to any secure area in which a firearm is restricted. Provisions shall be made to provide a secure firearms storage area so that persons with lawfully carried firearms may store them while they are in the secure area. A person licensed to carry a concealed firearm may not knowingly and intentionally transport a firearm into a house of worship or a private residence after notice has been given that firearms are prohibited.
  Resident Permit Reciprocity: For residents:
Disclaimer:
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.

Utah State CCW Codes:

A. Concealed Weapon Act:

1. 53-5-70253-5-70353-5-70453-5-70753-5-710

B. Justification of Force:

1. Force in defense of a person 76-2-402, Habitation 76-2-405, Property 76-2-406

2. Deadly force in defense of real persons on real property 76-2-407

C. Weapons Laws:

1. Prohibited areas 53-5-710, 76-8-311, 76-10-523.576-10-52976-10-530

2. Threatening w/dangerous weapon in a fight or quarrel (Brandishing) 76-10-506

3. Carrying under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance 76-10-528

4. Sales, possession, providing weapons to a minor 76-10-509,.4, .5, .6, .7, .9

5. Elements consisting of assault 76-5-102 and aggravated assault 76-5-103 CCW

D. Weapons Laws non Concealed Permit Carrier:

1. When weapon is deemed loaded 76-10-502

2. Loaded firearm in vehicle 76-10-505

3. Carrying concealed weapon 76-10-504

4. Persons not permitted to carry weapons (restricted persons) 76-10-503

5. Possession of a weapon/firearm on or about school premises 76-10-505.5