Top Menu

New Utah CCW Law Changes Effective May 10th 2011

On May 10th, 2011 several new laws which directly affect Utah Concealed Weapon permit holders will go into effect. The cooresponding bills include: 1st Substitute S.B. 36, H.B. 214 and 1st Substitute H.B. 257.

Non-Resident Applicants

If an applicant for the Utah concealed weapons permit is a current resident of a state that recognizes the Utah permit, that applicant must have and provide proof of a current ccw permit from that state of residency. This change does not affect applicants who are residents of states who do not currently honor the Utah permit such as Nevada, California, or New Mexico.

For those of you who already have current Utah permits and are residents of another state, you will be required as of January 1st, 2012 to provide proof of your valid permit from your state of residency when you apply to renew your Utah permit. You will not be required to renew your permit any earlier than the current expiration date on your card.

Fee Changes

In addition, out of state applicants will, as of May 10th pay $65 for their application. In state applicants will only pay $60. The current, universal fee of $65.25 will remain intact until May 10th.

All renewals will be $15 (previously $10).


, , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply